Russell Group Universities

Picture of Russell Group Uni Banner


Picture of More Able Button

More Able

Ambitious Futures Guide to getting a Top Uni place

In 1994 an association of twenty long-established universities was formed.

These were drawn together because of the extensive research work in which they were engaged. The meeting took place in Russell Square, London, and the association is now known as The Russell Group.

These Universities have a finance stream and have obtained research contracts.  It also creates a context in which successful post-graduate programmes can be delivered. The finest academics are attracted to these institutions, and these are the people who oversee the research and lecture to students.

The following universities are members of the Russell Group: University of Birmingham, University of Bristol, University of Cambridge, Cardiff University, Durham University, University of Edinburgh, University of Exeter, University of Glasgow, Imperial College London, King’s College London, University of Leeds, University of Liverpool, London School of Economics and Political Science, University of Manchester, Newcastle University, University of Nottingham, Queen Mary, University of London, Queen’s University Belfast, University of Oxford, University of Sheffield, University of Southampton, University College London, University of Warwick and the University of York.

This list is subject to change for the very latest information go to

More information can be found at:

University Applications – UEA – How to get the course you want